Skydiving in Maryland

Over the weekend I went skydiving for the first time in my life. I went to a little place on the eastern shore about 20 minutes off of route 404.(perfect for a quick trip on your way to the beach) The place was run by a group of stoners who lived out of a hippie commune located on the property. They were incredibly inefficient and it took all of my restraint not to impart some basic principles that I had learned in Econ 101. I took off from work early on Friday to make a 3:00 appointment and ended up getting on the last barely functioning plane to take off for the afternoon at about 7:30.

The WW2 style plane took off and slowing started it’s incline to 10,000 feet. Along the way my sister asked the man who she would be tandem jumping with how he had learned how to parachute. He replied “In the 70’s and 80’s I flew planes into Texas from South America, when the US government got the go ahead to shoot us down we needed to find a way to bail”. Once we reached 10,000 feet I was given the go ahead to jump first. After I jumped I was overwhelmed by a euphoric state. It is impossible to describe the feeling of hurtling towards the ground at an incredible speed for 2 minutes that feel more like 30. Once we pulled the parachute I was struck by an equally enjoyable feeling of bliss as I looked out over the Chesapeake Bay as the sun slowly set. I could faintly make out the Bay Bridge and Annapolis in the distance and the panorama was one of the most beautiful I have ever seen. This incredible experience quickly washed away any inconvenience that I had felt from the 4 hour wait and the bungling drug smuggling hippies.

I would urge everyone with the balls, the opportunity and 200$ to make the hour drive to Skydive Maryland for an incredible experience you will never forget.

Leave a Reply

